Tags

, , , , ,

Summer seems to have emphasis on natural, make-up free beauty, and flowing, soft hair. After all, in 100 degree temps, any sort of make-up pretty much melts or gets wiped off! Which is why, I’ve decided to share what’s in my medicine cabinet– although I pretty much use some of these all year long. Everything I use are paraben-free and NOT tested on animals, and mostly plant-based. Paraben-free, sulfate-free, chemical-free are a great suggestion if you have someone living with that has an Autoimmune Disorder, or if you’re pregnant or breast-feeding. All of these, I’ve been using for a few years now, truly believe in their effectiveness and worth every penny when I see great results!

As you can see, I am a BIG fan of Ole Henriksen 🙂 Every night, I use the Sheer Transformation, its the most light-weight yet rich moisturizer that I’ve used ever (and I have used a lot, from drugstore to more expensive bottles), but it also evens out skin tones and gets rid of sun-spots.  Come fall, I alternate with the Truth Serum Collagen Booster, it has high potency Vit C, which corrects all the sins from summer– sort of like hybernation for your skin 😉  By day, I religiously use Alba Botanica Hawaiian SPF 45+ infused with Green Tea and Aloe Vera. Its widely available at most drugstores, but its fragrance-free, and its main active ingredients are only Zinc Oxide and Titanium Dioxide, which only rests on the top layer of skin, instead of being absorbed like most sunblock on the market. Day and night, I use Ole Henriksen Visual Truth Eye Creme, because otherwise I would scare everyone around me! haha  Seriously, its the only eye cream I’ve used and continue to use, that doesn’t give me those little white bumps around the eyes!

About once or twice a week, my skin seriously needs a mini-facial. I forgot to include here that I do have a facial scrub from AmorePacific Treatment Enzyme Peel– which is not really a peel, although its unbelievable in peeling away all the yucky black heads off my face! Its different from most facial scrubs, as its fine rice powder that lathers with water, instead of most abrasive scrubs. I either alternate or back-to-back (depending on the amount of stress or lack of sleep) with Ole Henriksen Blue/Black Berry Enzyme Mask, which also has soothing Aloe and Lavender, and will do a one-two punch with the Treatment Enzyme Peel, in refreshing my skin, and getting rid of a week’s worth of excess oil and grime. I rinse them off with plain Cetaphil, which is my daily cleanser, then immediately put on Sana By Noevir Nameraka Honpo Soy Milk Face Moisturizing Mask. It says leave in on for 10-20 minutes but I leave it on ’til it pretty much dries up, most probably because I end up falling asleep! And it doesn’t need to be rinsed off, just a quick towel wipe will do 🙂 Seriously, great to carry in your bag for those long-distance flights!

Every once in a while, mostly when I am about to go out for the evening, and my skin looks kinda tired, I slather a little bit of Bare Escentuals bareVitamins – Skin Rev-er Upper which is loaded with vitamins, and quickly ‘wakes up’ my skin 🙂

For hair, its relatively easier… normally I use the Yes! To Carrots shampoo and conditioners, but since I have ombré-d my hair and the ends are pretty much bleached, I have been using Moroccan Oil Moisture Repair Shampoo, which is incredibly rich and smells amazingly yummy. As soon as I towel dry my hair, I use Phyto Phyto 9 Daily Ultra Nourishing Botanical Cream – Ultra Dry Hair, as a leave-in conditioner, and keeps my hair soft– like it had never gone through the torture of being bleached white!

