Tags

,

One of the things I learned to appreciate as a graphic designer starting out is type. As a life-long artist, I never had a formula, everything was spontaneous and free-for-all. Then,  as a senior graphic designer for a small publishing company, designing their counter-culture type magazine, I slowly learned to appreciate ligatures, spaces, dead space, paragraphs… My way of designing seriously got influenced when I got hold of Emigre Magazine. I began to see blocks of paragraph like buildings– like architecture; The serif or sans serif became romanticized; I loved white, empty spaces… Its disciplined my way of designing, not only for web or print, but for garment construction as well. Emigre is now defunct, but it was so influential, well-thought out and beautifully laid out  that it is permanent collections at the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, the Museum of Modern Art in New York, the Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum in New York, the Design Museum in London, and the Denver Art Museum. If you are lucky enough to be in any of those cities, check it out at the museums, and you’ll see what I mean.


Emigre No. 20

Emigre No. 52– one that I actually still have a copy of… somewhere!!!

Emigre No. 65

